It isn’t very often that I get into the habit of binging on TV shows. Sometimes I try my best to avoid it because of how invested I become. I recently became OBSESSED with Gilmore Girls. I never really watched it when it was on TV, but I love it now. Aside from relating so much to certain characters and storylines, I’ve been inspired to create designs and have some of the actors as subjects. Since the design of Thomas Fiss was inspired by the character “Luke Danes”, I thought it would be great to use Milo Ventimiglia, who plays “Jess Mariano” as a subject. I connect a lot with his character and he’s actually one of my favorites if not the favorite. I’ve wanted to actually use Milo for a long time. I had a phase where I was obsessed with the show Heroes and wanted to pursue something of Milo creatively. I guess it’s all about timing because I feel like this is one of the best designs I’ve done lately. I went with a watercolor for this one and I’m glad that I did because it speaks so much to me. I’ve never really used a green-meets-purple kind of scheme. I love how nature-like it looks. I think about the character “Jess” and how unpredictable but smart he was. I came up with the name, “Man Misunderstood”, because Jess was a good guy and a good soul, he just didn’t show it as well. This was fun for me and I love how crisp the design came out. I also worked on another design of a second character, Jared Padalecki who plays “Dean Forrester”. Cyborg was excited about this one. He’s wanted me to use Jared as a subject for a long time and he was excited once I showed him the final result. The character “Dean” is a lot different from “Jess”. A little more emotional, loving, and sweet, but also naive as well. It’s pretty much night and day. I went with a subject design for Jared and since my reference photo had Pink as the main color, I decided to feed off of that and create a wonderful illusion from it. The design looks really taboo, almost like it’s forbidden to be around or see. I didn’t plan that so I thought it was pretty cool to see that visual form the way it did. I went with the name “Potion” for this design because I think of potion. The colors going on remind me of it, I get a very mysterious vibe, and the presence is very spooky but sensual as well. This, along with the design of Milo, have easily become favorites of mine. So glad that I have something simple like a great show that can inspire designs like this to be done.

image

(Watercolor Background Texture used for this design: texturefabrik.com)

 

image

