For a while now, I’ve wanted to test some of my limits and try some things that I’ve never done before. For the the first time ever, I’ve accomplished the task of making two separate designs form into one. Confused? Well I’m here to break it down a little bit for you. I’ve been a fan of vine compilations for a long time and I got an amazing idea to revisit The Dolan Twins, Ethan and Grayson Dolan. I created a watercolor of the twins together sometime last year, (Vinestein Squared). For a while I was content with the design, but I knew that I also wanted to try something different. I wanted to highlight each of the guys separately without taking away the presence of them as a team. The idea at first was just two separate watercolors, then I figured that subjects would be a little bit better so I went that route. I started off with Ethan’s design, being the first half of the whole edit. I went with a dark and grungy kind of direction with this. Grayson’s would end up being the same. I’d say that Ethan’s was a lot easier , just because there was less that had to be done. I decided to make the color gray be the focus of the design and really make Ethan stand out. For Grayson’s design, the second half, Black was the focus on a Gray background. The best way for me to describe it would be Ethan’s inverted. It’s interesting because I was trying so hard to make the two designs match to the point where they completely differed. Of course there were elements to make them almost mimic each other, but I’m glad they got to shine in their own ways. To my surprise, they both came out amazing. I had some trouble trying to get Grayson’s to look the way I wanted it to, but after some messing around with the elements and different stuff going on, I was able to make it work. After finishing, I put the two designs together and they matched up PERFECTLY! The glue would most definitely be the backdrop going on (Original background by: D. Sharon Pruitt). I’m glad that I was able to get my measurements right and make this project come to life. I’m so excited that this worked out well for my first time making a big project out of two separate designs. I can’t wait to keep trying ideas like this.

image

image

image

