Lately, it’s been tough to find a lot of inspiration and creativity when it comes to art and the different subjects I’ve wanted to experiment with. Timing is truly a blessing in disguise. Cyborg has been listening to a lot of the band, One Direction. He’s been sharing his feelings on a lot of their songs, basically becoming a die hard fan. I usually don’t get into much of the newer music, but I always take Cy’s opinions on music seriously because he’s an artist himself and to me, nobody loves it the way that he does. For the last week or so, he’s sent me a lot of their songs and has even put me on to some of their video diaries on YouTube. I must say, these guys are not only super talented, but so silly that I’ve been close to tears laughing at their videos. I got an amazing idea to create designs of the members: Harry Styles, Louis Tomlinson, Liam Payne, Niall Horan, and Zayn Malik, despite his recent departure from the group. I was so excited to get into these designs. I honestly feel now like I know the guys personally, that’s how much I vibe with the group. I wouldn’t say that I’m a fangirl, but they make me happy, so I guess that’s a positive note. So, the first design I did was of Harry. I decided to go with a watercolor technique because Harry gives me a very vintage rock-and-roll kind of vibe. I was even telling Cy how much rockstar vibe I get from him when I hear him sing. This process was pretty fun for me. I loved using the hints of Gold with cool colors and I think the color scheme fits Harry so well. After I did Harry’s design, I did Louis. Since Louis is the oldest in the group, I wanted to create something simple but complex as well. Louis has a charming but silly kind of vibe to him and I wanted to represent that in this design. I went with a white background and brought life to the elements going on in the design. It’s a plus seeing the cool colors going on as well. The next design I did was of Liam. I can’t lie, this was probably the hardest one of the 5 to work on because I had no idea how I even wanted to create it. After I took a second to regroup, the process flowed a lot smoother. I was able to introduce some of the new brushes I got to myself and just experiment and go crazy with them. I was not only able to create something amazing but seeing how nice the colors were flowing and bouncing off of Liam, I’m glad that I was able to finish what I started. Niall’s design was probably the easiest of the 5. Niall has a youthful feel to him and because I connect so well with youth and my childhood, I knew this would be a piece of cake. I created a watercolor and used some colors that I feel represent happiness and energy. I got my color inspiration actually from different cartoons that I loved to watch, such as Rugrats, The Wild Thornberries, and Courage, the Cowardly Dog. Niall also being a big jokester in the group played a big part in this design’s inspiration. I even laughed a few times when creating it. Zayn’s design was definitely a wild card. A piece of me felt like I didn’t need to do the design since he’s no longer a part of the group, but I also wanted to because he matters a lot to me. Gosh I sound like such a fangirl. For quite a while now, I’ve wanted to do a design of Zayn. I created an edit of him back in like 2011, but I knew I wanted this one to be amazing and more meaningful. In the beginning, I wasn’t very sure of the technique I wanted to use. A piece of me said a watercolor and the other said subject design.  Ultimately, I went with a subject design. I struggled a lot when I began this edit. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do. I used Liam’s design for a lot of this inspiration. Zayn gives off a very urban, bad boy kind of vibe and I really wanted to incorporate that into the design. I went with some dark colors to accent that as well as some grungy elements and brushes to make it come to life. Can’t tell you all how satisfied I was to be able to create this, given all of the pressure that I had put on myself to bring this design to life. After finishing all 5 of these designs, not only did I feel accomplished, but like I was meant to do this. Because I love the group a lot, each of the designs’ names have their last name added in. One Direction has truly opened my  mind to things and music that I’d never thought I’d be interested in. I owe this to Cy because this is all of his fault. Lol I have to thank him though for putting me on to an amazing group and giving me the chance to put my new interest into the one interest that I value the most. This was truly a lot of fun. Now I want to go watch more diaries!

image

image

image

image

image

Photo Reference Sources:
(No copyright infringement is intended, all of the credit for photos goes to their original owners)

Harry Styles

Louis Tomlinson

Liam Payne

Niall Horan

Zayn Malik

 

(Watercolor Background Texture used for this design: texturefabrik.com)

