Happy Saturday ! Today, I have mixed emotions regarding something very important to me. Cyborg just released his new single today, “Golden Ticket/Bleed”, and guess who is featured? YOURS TRULY! I’m excited to know that we’ve done something like this together, but I am nervous also, because I don’t know what the perception is going to be like. This is my first time even stepping into the music world so it’s pretty fresh for me. No, I don’t sing or rap. I actually performed spoken word on this track and the passage I performed comes from my poem Bleed. It was amazing because I’ve never actually read my poetry aloud, let alone on a musical track so you could imagine my feelings there. I’ll let you all in on a secret: I haven’t even heard the track since the day I recorded my part. Guess I’ve just been so nervous to hear myself again. Wondering if I’m too low, if my voice is right, just about everything you’d get the jitters about if you were on a song for the very first time. This definitely carried in to creating the artwork for the single. When I create single artwork, usually it’s pretty much a smooth sail. However, this time was different. I had some trouble in the beginning. My name was actually going on the art instead of just my logo in the corner. I’m not gonna lie. It was new but pretty nice to see that. It started to make the process a little easier and my artist cap came on and I just got lost in designing this cover. The concept was pretty literal: a golden ticket covered in blood. The song talks about how everything that glitters is not gold, which I think the art represents well. I love the song’s concept. Cy and I actually talk about that subject a lot so it’s amazing that we finally brought that to life together. I’m glad I got a chance to express myself through the art as well as the song.

If you haven’t done so already, be sure to check out “Golden Ticket/Bleed” here on Sound cloud:

image

Be sure to leave us some feedback, as well as support Cyborg and check out the last single “Aerosmith”, artwork also done by me.

image

