I was introduced to the book The Outsiders, I’ll say when I was either in middle school or high school. I’ve read the story probably on two different occasions. It is probably my favorite book of all time. For this design, I was highly inspired by the characters and was excited to create something based on a book that I love connecting with. The subject I used for this design was South African model Candice Swanepoel. Originally I didn’t plan to use a concept like this for Candice, but I came across a great picture that I felt captured the feel of The Outsiders well enough. Immediately when I saw her face, I thought about the 3 main characters, brothers Ponyboy, Darry, and Sodapop Curtis. Her eyes reminded me a lot of Sodapop’s, who was played in the movie by Rob Lowe, and her demeanor reminds me of Ponyboy’s and Darry’s, who was played by C. Thomas Howell and Patrick Swayze. Also, the attire she was wearing reminds me of the greasers. It’s almost like she belongs in this movie. All of the similarities inspired the name for this project. I named it “Curtis” after the three brothers. As I was working on this design, I was just watching everything and all the elements piece together. All I could think about was the movie and how much I see it through this design. I’m really glad that I created this and had a chance to relive the story through my artwork.

image

