Happy Monday ! Today’s post on the blog is a subject design I did a few weeks back of Janelle Monae. The inspiration for using Janelle came from a list that Cyborg sent. Janelle was actually on the same list that Yukimi Nagano and SZA were on. Seems like a girl power thing Cy has going on with his inspiration and I love it. I’ve actually done a design in the past of Janelle Monae so this was definitely a chance to see how far I’ve come as an artist. I chose to go with a more versatile photo reference to make the design stand out. I chose to include the element of stripes to bring out the skirt that she was wearing. I also wanted to bring back an old element: a Zebra. Not only did it match well, but I was able to make it stand out a little bit aside Janelle. I was unsure at first about the background being white. I felt like it was too simple and more should’ve been done. After adding in more shapes and a few gradients it all started to come together well. To me, it actually looks like an abstract shape collage. There’s no doubt that I had a lot of fun with this design. It’s become a fan favorite and I truly see the changes of my artistic skills from the first edit to this one. I’ll add the first design below to show the transition.

image
Janelle Monae design (2012)
image
Janelle Monae (2015 design) ("Striper's Mayhem")
