Good afternoon. Hope everyone is having a good Friday. For today’s artwork, I decided to create a design of Little Dragon’s Yukimi Nagano. Cyborg gave me the idea to use her as a subject. I had no idea who she was so I was a little hesitant to work with her. Then again I was excited for that same reason. I was very unsure where to go with the design. At first I thought a watercolor technique would be nice, then again I saw something amazing happening if I were to choose a subject design. My gut was actually telling me that that was the better idea so I decided to just go along with it. I came across a very versatile and not so traditional photo to use for reference. It reminds me a lot of the TMTDG reference photo of Manu Bennett. There’s definitely always a challenge working with a photo where a lot is going on, but it makes designing the artwork that much more fun. For the color scheme, I wanted everything to bounce off the outfit Yukimi was wearing. I’ve seldom used the color green for a backdrop so this was definitely a new experience for me. Over time, doing a simple design was out of the question for this artwork. I tried out an evolution effect, where it looks like Yukimi is fading into the ground, or forming from the ground. It all depends on how you capture it. I’ve never done this before so I was completely amazed by how cool it came out. I added in some elements to overlay the evolution sequence to make it look chaotic and complicated. I think the triangles were an amazing touch, as well as the checkerboard. This is another favorite of mine. To me it screams complication and I love that I was able to connect to someone I barely knew of through this design.

image

