Happy Monday! Today, I wanted to take it back a  little bit with my designs. Around a month or two ago, I was given a new laptop computer to continue my artwork with. I named her Nova, which comes from the brand Lenovo. You could imagine my excitement, but I was even more excited to get back to work and continue on with these designs. Within my first session, I created 3 different designs, and a 4th the following session. The first design I created on Nova was of singer, FKA Twigs. She was actually a suggestion from Cyborg. I had no idea who she was, but she reminded me of Tinashe. I listened to some of her music via YouTube to get an idea of her style and sound so that can reflect into the design. She’s very different from anyone I’ve ever heard and that alone inspired me to create a very  versatile and hard design. Luckily, the photo I used for reference helped me to achieve a great vision. I named this edit “Against All Odds” because of the chains and the basic color scheme. To me I also see some rebellion going on, which is kind of dope. The second design I did was of model, Monami Frost. The inspiration for using Monami was pretty last minute and quick. Occasionally when I’m on instagram, I try to find some subject inspiration. Monami stood out to me a lot. I am starting to jump onto this kick of tattoos ever since doing the Brittanya design a few months back. I was definitely excited to get into this design. At first I was trying to have this be similar to the Brittanya design, but  I was glad that I chose to go in a different direction. I went with a light blue background to balance out the intensity of the black elements and the tattoos. I named this design “Frosted Inkwell”, like a mix between Monami’s last name and a tattoo reference. This was definitely one of the best designs I think I’ve ever done since the year began. The feedback was also pretty amazing, seeing as Monami herself took the interest. Speaking of interests, that brings me to the third design of recording artist, Baegod (Maryann). Now, this was another Cyborg suggestion, but I had no idea who this was but I was super interested just from her name. I did some musical research of course and I loved her style and sound. I was able to find the perfect photo for reference but a setup was so hard to figure out, since I wasn’t using a whole lot of elements. After a while, I chose to bounce of the photo and sort of pay homage to America with this stripe set up which inspired the name, “U.S Bar”. Less must definitely be more because the feedback for this design was amazing! Baegod was in love with it. I was very unsure about the design because I thought it wasn’t enough, but I underestimated it. So, I’ll say a day or two after doing these designs, I created another of Selena Gomez. Since my photo reference was a little racy, which inspired the name, “Bare Necessity”, it only felt right to bring it full circle with a nice grunge element, an element I actually used for each design in this post. I wanted this design to be a little more simple. My original idea was Periwinkle, but the colors looked way different and came out Grayscale. I wasn’t even mad because this design looked amazing either way. I offer apologies because these definitely should’ve went up sooner, but I am so glad I was able to start off the design journey on Nova with some amazing designs.

image
FKA Twigs ("Against All Odds")
image
Monami Frost ("Frosted Inkwell")
image
Baegod (Maryann) ("U.S. Bae)
image
Selena Gomez ("Bare Necessity")
