One of my favorites shows, well I should now say past-time shows, was Glee. Not only was I a fan of the storylines and the singing, but the characters themselves. “Mercedes Jones”, played by Amber Riley, was my favorite. I love her voice, her style, and her attitude. Mercedes character has also inspired me to love my size, myself as a person, and to always go after dreams. For that reason alone, I decided to create a subject design of Amber Riley. I’ve done a design of Amber before, but I knew for sure that this one would really mean something to me.  So, I decided to go for a photo reference of Amber as her Mercedes character and work with that in the design. I have a thing now also where I like the background color in the designs to match the color from the original picture, because I don’t want to take away that element of contrast between the person and the background. I also think it looks better to the eye of anyone viewing the design. As I was first getting into this design, the color scheme had me excited. I’ve never used yellowish-gold and royal blue (spoiler alert!) before. I was definitely interested to see where this was going. Over time and after adding little things I was definitely falling in love with this design, but it was missing a little something. So, I decided to use a skyscraper and blend it in with the lower half of Amber’s body. I get so much “Architect Effect” and “Adam’s Eve” tease from looking at this. I guess that would be granted considering a skyscraper played a great deal in the overall look and direction of the designs. After finishing, and looking at how everything came together, I was so blown away at how crisp and clean this design came out. I see so much growth from the very first design, which I’ll also add below to so you can compare. I’m sad that Glee has come to an end and I can’t watch my girl Mercedes stand out, but I’m so thankful I was able to create something meaningful and amazing from such a cool character.

image
Previous Amber Riley Design (2013)
image
Amber Riley subject design ("Mercedes Girl")
