Happy Easter ! It’s been a busy week and I’m so excited to share the new designs of the week. I’ve been thinking a lot about the previous posts, and since I dedicated a post to all female subjects (No Boys Allowed) not too long ago and I wanted to do the same thing for male subjects. Throughout this week, coincidentally, I’ve created designs of male subjects. There’s a couple of subjects from an older list that Cyborg made for me a couple of weeks back of actors James Dean and Marlon Brando that never made it to the blog. I’ve been trying to save these for personal posts because they’re significant to me, but I figured, because they’re too amazing not to showcase, they’d make great additions to this blog post. So, I kicked off the week with the design of Ezra Miller, and decided to gather the rest to create this post. After Ezra, I created designs of Kevin McHale and Adam Lambert. The inspiration for these two came from the show Glee. I was on a Netflix binge and got pretty inspired. After that, I went back to the most recent list that Cyborg gave me and J.Cole and Beck were on the list so I decided to do a design of him. This inspiration was great on both ends because J.Cole is one of the few rappers to me who makes a lot of sense and raps about real and relatable things. I wanted to keep the design very cool and calm color scheme wise. Beck has been around musically for a long time so I wanted to give this design a very retro-like feel. I think I did a great job with it. After that design, Cy and I discussed coming up with a list of rappers for subjects. I loved the idea completely and got right to work once I got the list. I first created a design of Tupac and one of Connecticut rapper Bravo. To me, these were probably the two hardest designs to execute. Because Tupac is very legendary and well known, I wanted to do a great job. I had that pressure inside my head for quite some time, but as I got further into designing, it faded and I was able to focus and create a great piece. I thought a lot about the design of Notorious B.I.G and was amazed at how well the both of them are captured by the watercolor look. I was so proud of this design. With Bravo’s design, I also felt pressure because I know Brav personally. I wanted to really make sure that I was doing a great job and capturing him well. Yes, I’ve done designs of Bravo before, but never in this form, so it was a little nerve racking. Luckily, after a little bit of time the design came together and well. I was torn between creating another but I actually love how realistic this one looks and the intensity the watercolor spots bring to my eye. It has been a busy week and I wish I could’ve been a little more consistent with the posting, but I’m also very excited I get to dish everything at once. Thank you guys for your patience. I give you, the Fella Frenzy! This one’s for the guys !

image
James Dean watercolor design ("Dean's List")
image
Marlon Brando watercolor design ("The Golden Godfather")
image
Kevin McHale watercolor design ("The Silly Cruiser")
image
Adam Lambert subject design ("Adam's Eve")
image
J.Cole watercolor design ("Coffee Shop Cole")
image
Beck watercolor design ("Beck to the Future")
image
Tupac watercolor design ("A PACket Full of Wisdom")
image
Bravo watercolor design ("Kid Cool Relax")
