Last post, I introduced myself into the world of designing with rock subjects (ROCK The Clock). After completing those four designs, I got into a design of Freddie Mercury (Queen). I was pretty pumped about this one because I did a design of Queen a while back and I thought it would be amazing to bring a design of the frontman to life. From watching the TV show, Glee and hearing many different songs from the band, I was so inspired and couldn’t wait to showcase the vibe that I got artistically from Freddie Mercury. I wouldn’t say that I’m a die hard fan of him and the group, but I love some of their songs and that has given me the extra push to create these designs. Starting off, I had a lot of trouble. It was extremely difficult to find a great photo to use for reference. I wasn’t very sure what direction to go in, and I had a lot of pressure to do a great job, considering how much of a legend Freddie Mercury was. After a little time, I was stuck between two different photos to go off of so I decided for the first time in a while to do two separate designs. The watercolor technique was an obvious choice for me to use. I felt that it would capture him the best in this form. The first design to me turned out looking like a relief with a mural kind of feel. When I look at it again, it reminds me of the flamboyance factor that Freddie had to him. It took me a while to really decide on a color scheme, but it’s pretty safe to say that I just winged it. In this case it worked out amazing for me. For the second design, I wanted to go a little more of a simpler route. Design inspiration had come from many of the past watercolors. I chose a very regal and royal kind of color scheme to show how much of a legacy Freddie had to him. This would probably be my favorite of the two because of how simple but bold this one looks. Took a little tweaking and playing around but I’m very satisfied with the final result, of both of them actually. I’ve been having so much fun dipping into rock subjects. I love the ideas that have been coming to life and I couldn’t be more excited to keep going.

image

image

