I learned earlier today that this date (yesterday) is the 18-year anniversary of the death of one of the biggest , no pun intended, rappers I grew up on, Notorious B.I.G (Biggie Smalls). On March 9, 1997, Biggie was shot and killed. This hits me a little everytime because I lost my brothers the summer of that same year. I was immediately inspired and I wanted to create a design to pay homage to Biggie. The funny thing is that I’ve been trying to create a design of him forever, but never was able to find the will to really get into it. I’m glad that I finally had the chance to do so and really have that creative inspiration. Something that I did a little differently from most design processes was look at other examples of artwork from artists with Biggie Smalls as the subject. I wanted to just really make sure that I go my own lane and really not try to copy anyone or play it safe. I really wanted to connect to this design. As I was working on it, I had a lot of indecisive moments as far as techniques and styles went. In the end I chose to create a watercolor design and try to give it a vintage feel. Something about Biggie that stood out to me was the New York pride he had. I’m not from New York but I have so much respect for people who love where they’re from. I wanted to really incorporate that into the design and really make something special out of it. I first used the skyscraper method in my design of Big Sean and thought it would also be great for this artwork. After a lot of tweaking and playing around, I was really happy with the design. I was so excited to showcase it on my social media accounts and now I’m excited to showcase it here on the blog. I’m very fortunate to have experienced and continue experiencing the legacy that Biggie left behind. I love his music and I’m glad I have this design to remember him. Continue to rest in peace B.I.G.

image

