Over the past weekend, the movie 50 Shades of Grey came out in movie theaters. I haven’t had the chance to see it or even read the book, but that didn’t stop me much from getting inspired. Aside from the sexual aspect of the movie and what it represents, the whole use of the color grey is what has really set off a light bulb in my mind. Yesterday, I created two different designs, both having a Black, White, and Grey color scheme. I’ve been paying so much attention to different posters from the movie and was hoping to create designs where the lack of color would actually have the art be appreciated much more. The first design I did was of one of my favorite singers P!nk. I grew up listening to P!nk, from “There You Go” all the way up to “Blow Me One Last Kiss”. I love how daring and spunky she is, as well as beautiful. The idea to use P!nk came from Cyborg. I had no idea that this would be a great as it came out. I lucked out and was able to find some great photos to use as a reference. Since I planned to create a watercolor, I knew they would he perfect. For the first time ever, I was able to blend multiple photos into one watercolor design and this was so much fun for me. Very challenging of course, but definitely fun. I took a different route from the usual watercolor process but I think it made for an amazing design. After finishing this one, I was inspired to keep designing. I chose to use Hilary Duff for my second design. It’s crazy because I actually didn’t plan to use Hilary at first. I planned to use LaLaine, but couldn’t find the property inspiration I needed. Since I loved Lizzie McGuire growing up, I thought it would he great to stick in the category and use a Disney star. Not only was I able to find great inspiration for Hilary Duff, I got a chance to step into a new category with this design: Black on Black contrast. I was super worried at first that I wasn’t going to pull this off, but I’m so glad I did. This design looks like a dark matter kind of universe. I love how simple but complicated it came out. Definitely a favorite of mine.

image
P!nk watercolor design ("52")
image
Hilary Duff subject design ("51")
