Last week, I was having a bad day and artistically I was doing my best to take myself out of the funk I had been in. For a little while now I had been playing around with the idea of creating another character crossover between creators or voice actors of my favorite cartoon characters. Mel Blanc was actually a subject that Cyborg had suggested to me a while ago but I never really acted on it. I’ve had some photos on my desktop of Mel for a while and never deleted them because I knew eventually I wanted to use him as a subject. This became the perfect timing because I was able to act on a technique that I love, release some frustration, and create something that really brings me back to my childhood. Growing up, I loved watching Looney Tunes. I would always watch different episodes and clips with all of the different characters. I was doing some research on Mel Blanc and I noticed how many different original characters he’s voiced. I was so shocked and intrigued, that I decided to make this potential design with multiple characters. I knew that this would be the ultimate challenge for me, especially when it came to how I wanted to set it all up. To my shock, I was lucky with my photo choices because in some way each of the characters connected with one another: Elmer and Pepe Le Pew; Yosemite Sam and Bugs Bunny; Daffy Duck and Speedy Gonzales; Wile E. Coyote and Road Runner; Tazmanian Devil looking at the watercolor; Sylvester and Tweety up top; and Porky and Foghorn Leghorn sticking their heads into the photo. I am so in love with how amazing the crossover design came out. I added in a checkerboard floor to bring out the animation a little bit more. Creating the watercolor was actually harder than the crossover design. I tried my best to make it really pop and blend in with the characters as well as give it a vibrant feel. Overall, I really  enjoyed creating these designs and I’m so glad I was once again able to dip into my childhood and  just have fun. Needless to say, I felt much better afterwards. Thank you Cy.

image
Mel Blanc watercolor design
image
Looney Tunes character crossover
