Happy February from the #VVC Blog!  As the  year has slowly progressed and came in, I’ve been super excited about picking up new techniques. Aside from being busy and consistent with the art, I’ve tried to think up some new elements to add to my current styles. Everyone loves the watercolors just as I do. I thought this would be a great start. A few days ago, I created a watercolor of singer and past time subject, Ariana Grande. I usually have stayed in the box of subject designs with Ariana and that was my original motive for this design but I wanted to try something a little different. As I kept looking at the picture I was referring from, I just chose to take a chance and try out the watercolor technique. The process has me very picky with the colors at first. I really couldn’t decide what scheme would look the best. After a while it came to me. I went with something a little tropical and festive. After finishing the design, I wanted to add something new and fresh. I got the idea of an elliptical shape from random vintage movie posters I always see on art blogs that I love following. The minute I added it in, it was gold. The watercolor came together too well. Earlier today, I was looking at the design and I was inspired to create another. This one was of singer Adrian Marcel. I wanted to do exactly what I did with Ariana’s, just a little cooler in the color choices. It was a little tougher creating this one because I didn’t want to copy too much. I wanted it to be soft and mellow. I call it “ocean groove”, because I think of dusk and an ocean view when I look at this design. I added in the circle in the back as well to bring the colors together a little bit more. If I had to choose a favorite I know that Icouldn’t. The designs to me tell different stories. I love the idea of the circle added in to these watercolors. The give them a retro and a modern feel all at once. I can’t wait to continue on.

image
Ariana Grande watercolor
image
Adrian Marcel watercolor
