I’ve been going back and forth when it comes to my inspiration of Disney character and all they’re about. The Disneystalgia watercolors, the princess inspired designs, and something else that has really been sitting in my mind: the Crossover Design of Walt Disney and Mickey Mouse. Recently, Cyborg and I saw a movie based on Walt Disney’s story called Saving Mr. Banks. Not long after that, Cy sent me a list of subjects to possibly work with. I had been having a little bit of trouble with my subject inspiration prior to the new year so I asked him for some help and boy did he come through. I noticed a lot of the subjects were vintage and as I did my research a lot of them were voice actors to iconic Disney characters. Then, things clicked in my head to revisit an old technique, that of the Disney and Mickey crossover, and match up watercolor designs of the subject with their character all in one design. So far I have created 3: Ilene Woods (Cinderella’s voice), Bobby Driscoll (Peter Pan’s voice), and Adriana Caselotti (Snow White’s voice). When I created each watercolor, I wanted the color schemes to match that of the characters and have them incorporated into the designs. I tried to have the crossover designs look like a story and have the characters sort of connect with the watercolors as if they’re admiring them. I’m so glad that I came up with this idea. An added bonus was put in color-coding paint blotches to make it look like a painting and have the watercolors really stand out. I’m super proud of these designs. I feel like each of them bring something different to my eye. Cinderella’s is very innocent, Peter’s is very comical in a way, and Snow’s is so vibrant. I’m super excited to share these with you all and show you how I creatively vibe with something as powerful as Disney.

image
Cinderella & Ilene Woods
image
Ilene Woods (watercolor design)
image
Peter Pan & Bobby Driscoll
image
Bobby Driscoll (watercolor design)
image
Snow White & Adriana Caselotti
image
Adriana Caselotti (watercolor design)
