For a couple of my recent designs, I wanted to try out an old reliable resource that I use, cracked textures. I usually only use cracked textures for my manipulation designs to give whoever’s face I work on a realistic touch. I’ve grown curious as of late to about how the texture would work overlaying on subject designs. The first design I tried this out on was a black-and-white design I did of singer Travis Garland a couple of weeks ago. I’m a lover of not using any colors on designs but I wanted to make this one really pop. He was half-dressed in the photo I was using so I really wanted to take advantage of the vibe I get when I see people close to nude. I think about vulnerability, being stripped down, and demons. I thought it was a great touch to add in the cracks and really have this design tell a little of a story. Even though the photo of Travis comes off like that of a model or underwear ad, I wanted to transform it into something meaningful, a little supernatural, and very complicated. The pattern of using the cracks followed when I created my design of another singer, Jetta. I was working with a very candid but complicated photo and was unsure at the time if I was gonna be able to pull this off. After a lot of tweaking and messing around with hues and saturation, I was able to make the photo blend in well and create a simple but complex design. I originally wanted to do a black-and-white design like that of Travis’, but I chose to add in two colors: Blue and Purple. The color choice was inspired by the emotions I was feeling at the time. I base the colors of emotions off the lantern spectrum (comic reference), blue and purple meaning Hope and Love. I was so impressed with how well the design just meshed together. A great thing for me also was Jetta herself, noticing and admiring the photo on social media. Made me realize how significant the design truly was. Using cracks has been a great experience for me. I actually can’t wait to see how far I can branch out with it when I create these subject designs,as oppose to just manipulations.

image
Travis Garland (subject design)
image
Jetta (subject design)
