As the year is coming to an end, I’ve been going through some of my latest artwork designs and I can’t believe all of the great things I haven’t had a chance to add to the blog, especially some of the watercolor designs I’ve done recently. Better late than never though, right? Back when I got the list of subject suggestions from Cyborg, I designed two watercolor designs, one being of Frankie Valli, the other being of Veronica Lake. It’s been quite some time since I created watercolor designs based around subjects of an earlier era in time. I’ve mainly been branching out more into more recent subjects so this was a great experience. This was a great process for me on both designs. The feedback was amazing and still to this day, the designs are some of my favorites of the year. After creating the most recent design of Nicki Minaj, I created a watercolor design of rapper/comedian, Childish Gambino. The idea for using Childish came from a new song that I just got into off of Ariana Grande’s album that he was featured on. I’ve wanted to use Childish Gambino as a subject for a long time, but was never able to find a photo to work with. I was glad that I finally had the chance. I knew for sure that I wanted to do something a little different for this watercolor. Make it look complicated but very simple as well. I was able to do that very well. Before working on JORgeous, I did another watercolor design of actor/rapper, Khleo Thomas. I’ve known about Khleo since his roles in the movies Holes, Friday After Next, and Roll Bounce. Recently, I stumbled across some of his vines and was tuned in for a while. He’s funny, attractive, and a familiar but underrated face so I thought it would great to use him as a subject. My original plans were to do a simple subject design, but I decided to surprise myself and do a watercolor. It was tough at first, but as I got further into it, it came out amazing. I love the colors, the angle of his face, and just how it looks overall. Wow, I’m actually really surprised with myself how I’ve never shown these designs on the blog. They each mean something different to me. I’m super proud of getting into the watercolor design technique this year. I’ve created some of the best designs I’ve ever done with this one style. I’m excited to continue on with watercolors and just keep on creating greatness.

image
Veronica Lake (watercolor design)
image
Frankie Valli (watercolor design)
image
Childish Gambino (watercolor design)
image
Khleo Thomas (watercolor design)
