As mentioned in my previous posts, I had a day a couple of weeks back where I created 5 designs. Working so hard and then being tapped out I forgot about some of the designs that I created that day. I was going through my folder today and thought that it would be absolutely great to showcase the rest of the designs. After creating the designs of Keri Hilson and Babs & Buster, I proceeded to the 3rd design, being of singer, Ciara. I wanted this design to be a lot more simple and dark. The first couple of designs took a lot out of me so I turned down the process for this. The picture I used was very strong and bold so I think going the route that I  did in making it black gives off a great story. The checkerboard gives me a fantasy kind of feel when I look at the design. This is a case for me where less is more. After finishing the Ciara design, I went on to create the 4th design of actress Alexandra Shipp, who starred in the Aaliyah biopic on Lifetime. I wasn’t able to watch which gave me the inspiration to create this design. I decided to go a different direction and grab some inspiration from a past-time album cover, Control by Janet Jackson . Very spontaneous idea but the concept to me was executed so well. After I finished this design, I was worn out but determined to another. The last design was a watercolor of rapper Dej Loaf. This process was complicated as far as figuring out what kind of color scheme I wanted to go with. After getting over that obstacle, elements came together pretty well. I feel a little like I could’ve done much more, but the end result of the design was very satisfying for me. It looks simple but it catches my eye all over again. Overall, I’ve very proud of the work and the time I’ve put in to create these as well as just letting my creativity run wild.

image
Ciara (subject design)
image
Alexandra Shipp (subject design)
image
Dej Loaf (watercolor design)
