Earlier today, I was having a conversation with Cyborg, just talking about my art and deciding really where I want to go next. Its been a little tough lately, as I explained in my last post, to come up with new ideas and directions to go with my work. He helped me to really did into my mind and asked me questions about color schemes I want to try and subjects that he believed could be brought to life well by me. A cool idea I came up with was the use of a secondary color: Orange. I’ve noticed lately how I don’t really use the color orange in a lot of my artwork. I see orange so much as a Halloween color that I’ve found it too risky to use, but I decided to just leap in a give it a try with the edits I designed today. One being of a rapper G-Eazy and the second being of one of my favorite singers, Rihanna. The idea of G-Eazy came from Cy. He told me a little about the rapper and then decided to do my own research. I went through some photos and listened to some of his music and I fell in love with him. I love his versatile style and the way he delivers. I knew I wanted to create something beyond abstract of him and I think I did a great job. As for Rihanna, I’ve done many designs of her so the excitement wasn’t as high, but the bar for doing an amazing job was set high. I’m all about improvement so I wanted to really do a great job. I chose to work with a racy photo and bring a lot of life to the element of nudity here and turn it into a work of art. As you’ll be able to tell, I didn’t want to do a whole lot with the design. I wanted to keep the feel very rich, but super simple, something I usually don’t do when it comes to Rihanna. I love how nice and almost similar the two designs look. I think about citrus from oranges peels and how they look like they could be splashed onto the work. I’ve officially broke my hesitation of using the color orange.

image
G-Eazy subject design
image
Rihanna subject design
