Happy November from the VVC Blog! It’s been a  little slow of a week, due to some personal things going on as well as a little lack of inspiration. Took me a little bit of time to really come back and decide what I wanna create next. I’ve really been into watercolors and I find myself missing the concept of doing subject designs. Over the weekend, I came up with a couple of subjects to work with. As far as inspiration goes, I first tried to make a list of who I wanted to create, but I got pretty frustrated and took a break. Then I tried to think about the things that I’ve been doing lately, the music I listen to and I was able to pick two people so far: Chris Jay, a popular entertainer on Vine, and Dawn Richard,  formerly of the girl group, Danity Kane. I am a huge lover of vine compilations and Chris Jay was one of the people I came across. He’s funny, talented, and attractive so I thought it would be nice to create an edit of him. Doing this design meant something to me because I never really do internet entertainers as subjects and it was cool for me to try something new. I loved how minimal but significant the edit came out. It’s for sure one of my recent favorites. For the Dawn Richard edit, I was super excited. I’ve done a design of Dawn before, so this was a great way for me to see how much I’ve improved from the last time I used her as a subject. I come across Danity Kane a lot on my mp3 and my music library and her being my favorite in the group, I thought it would be great to do another design. This process was very hard because the photo I had was so strong but I love how dope the edit came out. Like the design of Chris Jay it’s very simple but complicated looking, a feel I’ve been stepping into a little bit more. I’m excited to get back to my work and just create many more great things. I’ve included the previous design of Dawn Richard to show the transition.

image
"Vine-Stein" - Chris Jay (subject design)
image
"Break of Dawn" - Dawn Richard (subject design)
image
(2012-13) Dawn Richard design
