Let’s take it back to last week in the spirit of Throwback Thursday since tomorrow is a Thursday. (I didn’t get much of a chance to post last week so I’m posting now.) Last week was a crazy and creative week for me and my designs. Aside from starting up the Nickelodeon Watercolors, I was able to get some subject designs in. The first was of a singer by the name, Snoh Aalegra. I hear about her through Cyborg. He’s a big lover of the non-mainstream artists. I did a little research and heard some of her music and just got inspired to create a cool visual of her. She gives me so much Leona Lewis and Amy Winehouse tease. Having done designs of both Leona and Amy before, I thought it was clutch and Destiny to create this. Once I finished the design, the feel reminded me of the soft storm. I was so proud of it. To make things better, Snoh discovered it, and gave it a good review. That says night after creating the design, I was just flipping channels on the TV and came across the new show, Girl Meets World,  which is a remake of the original series that I grew up on, Boy Meets World. Cy told me about the show before but I never got around to watching until that very night. Being the artist I am, I was inspired to create a subject design with the leading actress, Rowan Blanchard, who plays Riley Matthews. I thought for sure this would come off as a real teeny-bopper kind of design. That wasn’t the case at all. I was able to work around a challenging photo and make an amazing evil meets sexy kind of design. When I showed Cy the final result he almost didn’t believe that was Rowan. I sometimes forget myself since her character has a teenage feel and look. I love to take risks and challenges with the subjects that I use. Not only am I able to surprise myself, but I’m able to tell an unexpected story with my art. It’s a pretty amazing feeling.

image
Snoh Aalegra subject design
image
Rowan Blanchard subject design
