Was going through my folder of designs a little earlier and I noticed that a couple of my favorite watercolor designs never made it here onto the blog. Since I haven’t had a whole lot of luck this week with creative inspiration, decided to dedicate this post to some past time artwork. A few weeks ago, we lost one of the funniest women of all-time, Joan Rivers. I was a fan of her show with her daughter Melissa as well as her funny comments on Fashion Police. I took the loss pretty hard because I didn’t see it coming at all. It just really seems a lot like the people who are passing are picked so randomly. It puts so much into perspective. As soon as I found out that Joan passed, I was immediately inspired to create a design in memory of her. A watercolor was a perfect way for me to express the impact she made on me. Decided to make the color scheme very bright and spring-like because she always appeared to give off positive energy. The feedback for this design was great. It was nice to see that everyone didn’t just support me, but loved the legacy she created. Rest in Peace to Joan Rivers.
      The second design is of one of my favorite girl groups of all-time, TLC. I did this design a WHILE back. I don’t really remember how the inspiration came about, one of those spontaneous ideas of mine, but what I will say is that this is by far one of my favorite watercolor designs. It took a lot of time to make this come alive and be acceptable to me. The pressure is always hiked up a little when I work with subjects I grew up on. Always want to be sure that I recreate my childhood well. I am so in love with the colors, not to mention I love the picture itself. Looking at this design again reminds me so much of when I was younger and my cousins and I would lip-sync to all of their songs, especially off of the CrazySexyCool album. Memories.
  Sometimes the hard thing about being so consistent with creating designs is the ones you overlook. I guess its a sign to wait for the right time to showcase something great, being creatively late.

image
Joan Rivers watercolor design
image
TLC watercolor design
