All week, I’ve been working on designs, putting emphasis on my love for Disney movies and characters. It’s been an amazing process of consistency and creativity and I’ve had so much fun doing these. Today, I decided to do something a little different but on topic as far as a subject goes. Missing the idea of doing subjects of a different time, I wanted to combine my process of regular watercolors with that of the Disney character watercolors. I chose to do a watercolor of the person responsible for everything, Walt Disney himself. I was super excited to do work with a subject as significant and creative as Walt Disney. I wasted no time getting into it. Choosing a color scheme was a little tough in the beginning but in the end I’m very content with the choice that I made. I knew for sure that I wanted to do this design a lot different from the other ones. I used the element of doodle brushes to give the watercolor this cartoon, artistically abstract feel. I was able to just let loose and really get into this design. I figured after finishing the watercolor itself that I’d just be done. Then my spontaneous side came out. I thought to add in an original character and an all-time favorite to many fans: Mickey Mouse. Originally Mickey was just supposed to blend into the watercolor design but I figured, why stop there? I made Mickey come to life a little bit more and create an illusion where Mickey was displaying the watercolor of Walt Disney, as if he was a presenter to a great piece of artwork. Thought it would be a great touch also to thrownsome of the same colors in the original design over him to make the whole thing look like a watercolor painting. I had so much fun creating this design and I’m happy that I had a chance to directly pay homage to the creative genius, who put the Disney in Disneystalgia.

image
Original watercolor design (Walt Disney)
image
Fused design of Mickey Mouse & Walt Disney
