Over the last few years, I’ve become less fond of television, mainly because I now go long without watching it. However, when I do, I love shows that surround the element of music. One show that I love is R&B Divas LA. One of my past designs of Claudette Ortiz, was actually inspired by the show. This time, I was inspired to do a design of another diva from the show, Chrisette Michele, a Grammy-nominated singer. I love her voice, her sound and her style. For a while I’ve been trying to use Chrisette as a subject but it’s always been so hard to find a photo for inspiration, until today. Decided to give the process another try and I was able to find the inspiration that I needed and dive into creating this design. The designing process was so natural and just therapeutic because I knew exactly what I wanted to do. For the first time ever, I used the element of gradient over brush strokes. I think that I did a phenomenal job with that. I definitely thought it would be a cool idea to have the color scheme bounce off of her outfit and create this amazing illusion to give it that significance. To me, I think this is probably one of the best designs of the year so far. It looks so clean, intense, and colorful.

image

