Sunday night, I tuned into to watch the MTV Video Music Awards and I must say that the show was amazing to me. There were a lot of great performances and moments. I knew deep down that watching the show would spark so much of my creativity. Over the year, I’ve done so many different designs of the singers, winners, and performers: Iggy Azalea,  Rita Ora, Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus, Lorde, Beyonce, Taylor Swift, Ariana Grande, and Nicki Minaj. Two performances stood out to me: The opening performance with Jessie J, Ariana, and Nicki and Sam Smith’s performance. These two were definitely the most memorable for me as a watcher. I got to thinking also that it would be am amazing idea to do designs of Sam Smith and Jessie J. For Sam’s design, I decided to make it a watercolor. The color scheme was inspired by the music from his album. I listened directly before doing the design to get a better sense of the kind of musician he is, as well as have it connect to the design. I love the colors and also how clean and crisp this design looks. For the Jessie J design, I chose to go a different route and do a subject design. I recently got some new tech and blueprint brushes to try something new with my designs. Taking the risk and adding them into this design was such a smart decision. On top of the chromatic-like color scheme, I wanted it to have that futuristic feel and I think I did a great job of making that happen. These designs are, hands down, some of the best I’ve done. I love how much of a part music plays in the inspiration of my artwork. Such a great feeling seeing one thing I love helping me create visuals.

image
Sam Smith (watercolor design)
image
Jessie J (subject design)
