I never thought that one idea would stem so much into my mind. Ever since I started the Disney-princess-inspired designs, I’ve tapped so much more into my childhood and my love for Disney. Whether it would mean watching a movie, searching around for inspiration, and especially Watercolors. After doing the Aladdin & Genie design, I was unsure if I wanted to continue with any watercolors with Disney characters. I thought of this to be a limited edition type of designing like that of the #IndieEntries, but I really felt in my heart like I should continue with these. I love the feeling they give me, as well as the piece of nostalgia they bring. Over the weekend, I designed two new watercolors, the first being Esmeralda from The Hunchback of Notre Dame and the second being Simba and Mufasa from The Lion King. For the Esmeralda design, I had a lot of trouble at first receiving the final product. I thought for a while that it wasn’t my best and that I could do better. However, the feedback was way better than I imagined and it brought my confidence up. Not long after, I watched the movie’s sequel, and that also helped my spirits about the design rise. I finished the second design just a few hours ago and this by far to me, is the best I’ve done yet. I love The Lion King so I knew how much I wanted to deliver with this design. For me a significant part was the sky. I wamted to capture the hues of blue well and make it look like a night sky. Also, Mufasa’s hair was a big element. Red is my favorite color so I wanted to capture this in a great way. I love how much of a painting this looks like. I had to have done a good job because I sent the design to Cyborg amd he though it was from a site and not me. That let me know how great I was and how out of my comfort zone I was with doing this design. I’m very happy to have done these designs as well as recapture some of my childhood. A beautiful experience if nothing else.

image
Esmeralda watercolor design (The Hunchback of Notre Dame)
image
Simba & Mufasa watercolor design (The Lion King)
