I’m an artist that appreciates a lot of the simple things. I love the elements of color, intensity, shapes, all of that great stuff. Since the beginning of the year, I’ve been exploring the element of animals with my artwork. I love incorporating them into the designs and being so daring with the way I blend them and make them stand out. For two of my more recent art, I’ve been so intrigued by owls and how calm they are but how intimidating they look also. Aside from the tigers, this has been an amazing animal to throw into my art. I usually now try to use the owl with darker color schemes so it can pop and/or blend in well at the same time. The first design I worked on was of actress, Sophia Bush from the show One Tree Hill. I got a lot of inspiration from my design of Madonna and the feel it had. I wanted it to look like an actual scene as opposed to just a crazy illusion. As a matter of fact, now that I am looking at it once again, it looks like a combination of both ideas. I love the photos and how sexy and sensual they look. To me, it makes the edit tasteful, but intense at the same time. The owl happened to be the last element I added in and the design all just meshed together so well. I love the maturity of it and the light background was a perfect idea for the sake of all of the elements popping. The second design is of actress and former child star Michelle Trachtenberg from the show Gossip Girl on the CW . The color of her dress made it easy to decipher what direction I would go in, color scheme wise. I wanted to keep it dark and like a chocolate brown. I instantly think of mocha and coffee, because that is the feel that I got. I at first had plans to do a duplicate design but instead, I added the checkerboard element that I love so much and the owl once again to hike up that intensity once again. I added just a pop of an out-of-sync color overlaying the design to take a risk of not being so stuck in my habit of making everything match. I think that it worked well for me as well as this design. I love this owl and I’m excited to continue exploring with it.

image
Sophia Bush design
image
Michelle Trachtenberg design
