For a few nights now, I’ve been binging on some sitcom DVDs, mostly The Cosby Show. I grew up watching the reruns on TV occasionally. I laugh still as if it’s my first time watching the episodes. Actress Lisa Bonet, who plays the character Denise Huxtable, has always stood out to me. She’s beautiful, but very rebellious and different from the rest of the cast. I loved her style and got inspired to work with her as a subject. This is an interesting idea to me since I’ve worked on a design of her oldest daughter, Zoë Kravitz a few months back (Zoë 101). At first, I thought to do a subject design but to me a watercolor was the perfect idea to capture the versatile look that she has. I was able to grab a lot of inspiration from one of her photos from the 80s-90s era, around the time the show was still active. Doing this design was so much fun for me. I decided to go with a very psychedelic-meets-caribbean color theme. I love the colors and how well they bounce off of this design. This reminds me so much of the popular Bob Marley posters. Though they usually promote smoking marijuana, that’s not what I was trying to display with this design. I love the element of being different and being weird & eccentric. I feel strongly that this design represents that well. I’ve never been so glad to have been watching sitcoms because I see they make for great inspiration to cool designs like this. I’ve attached the original photo to show the transition of the design.

image

image

