I’m starting to believe a lot more in the element of spontaneity. Yesterday, I was retouching a few photos of myself from a Sunday. I didn’t really have plans to design anything because of an artistic block I was dealing with. Then I came across some older and never used photos on my hard drive, had a little bit of tension from being a little worn out physically,  and just decided to create a manipulation design. I usually try to not get into the whole creative process and designing when I feel tired, but this just felt so right to me. I’ve never been so focused on a manipulation as I was with this one. The original photo itself was powerful to me so I knew the final design would be gold. I love all of the elements that I’ve added; the pupils look a lot more beady and scary, the skin looks so cracked and realistic, and I love mostly the intensity of the eyes, how noisy and strong they look. This reminds me so much of the monsters from the story Where The Wild Things Are. Just a matter of decades earlier and I could’ve been a shoe-in for sure. Lol I’m just glad to have great things to compare my talent to. I’ve attached the original photo to show the transition.

image

image

