This has been a busy week for me and my work ethic. I’ve been so inspired left and right, especially for my watercolor ideas. Recently, poet Maya Angelou had unfortunately passed away. The news was so shocking to me if anything because of how much she did and much of a legacy she had. Being a lover of poetry and some of her words, I knew for sure that I wanted to create a design of her to have for myself and to cherish her memory. The process was new to me because I did this design late into the night, which I never really do. The experience itself of actually creating it slowly was very peaceful and smooth. I love the color choices I went with here. Having never used them before made it even better for me to watch them just blend and come together so well. Another watercolor I worked on this week is of American actress, Dorothy Dandridge. Prior to doing this design, I had no clue who she was or what she had done. The idea to use Dorothy came from Cyborg once again. I’m so glad to have him as a close friend because he helps me so much creatively and has a great eye for what I’m capable of. As I was searching for some photos for inspiration, I didn’t realize how beautiful this woman was. She reminds me a lot of Lena Horne and Ruby Dee. I knew also that I wanted to go a different direction with her watercolor, adding a little more detail to captivate her beauty as well as test some of my limits. I love how different and vibrant this watercolor looks. It was a great experience overall to give a little bit of artistic tribute to two amazingly beautiful African-American women. I hope to one day have the legacy that they’ve had.

image
Maya Angelou (watercolor design)
image
Dorothy Dandridge (watercolor design)
