I’ve been becoming more fond of the watercolor technique and the amazing things and visuals I’ve been able to create with them. I made a decision to focus more on older and vintage subjects rather than the modern-day people I usually use for my designs. Last night, I came up, very randomly, with the idea to use two new subjects for watercolor designs: Lucille Ball and Dick Van Dyke. I used to always watch I Love Lucy & The Dick Van Dyke Show with my grandma whenever reruns came on. The shows were funny to me so it just felt right to use Lucille and Dick. For Lucille, the photos I found to use were perfect. I knew it wasn’t going to be easy trying to remake them because I wanted them to be perfect. I had a lot of trouble in the beginning since I was thinking too much. After taking a break, I came back, just dove into it and one design after another came out masterpieces. I did 3 different ones and I love how they differ from each other. Like the designs of Natalie Wood & Audrey Hepburn, they came to life and stood out. Not long after I created the design of Dick Van Dyke. This process was a little different. I actually couldn’t find many photos of Dick to work with so I only did just one design. The process while creating it was pretty natural and cool. I didn’t agree with the color scheme at first, but when it tested it on the end result of the project, it all just came together so well. I love how the design looks. It captures him so well and it looks so versatile and strong. Having an old soul inside of me makes creating these so peaceful and cool.

image

image

image

image

