I was recently approached by a recording rap artist I occasionally work with from the Texas area. He goes by the name of Yung Luno (@YungLuno on Twitter). He was inspired by my previous cartoon design of dancer DeVaughn Ragston and wanted one for his Twitter icon. I was extremely apprehensive at first because the photo he wanted restored was very complicated. I was trying for a while to figure out what would be the best approach, then I just decided to dive in, with no thinking. Slowly the cartoon started to come together and it took a quick amount of time. An element that stands out to me is the vest. I’ve never done an article of clothing that fades so to see how accurate it came out was cool. The face was the harder part and I had my reservations after finishing, but I put the pictures side-by-side and it was exact. Doing the background was fun because I got to play around with it and just make up as I go. I’m proud of this design and most importantly, Luno loves it. (Attached is the original photo to show transition.)

image

image

