This is my latest subject design of Divergent actress, Zoë Kravitz, who happens to be the daughter of Lenny Kravitz. I got the inspiration to do Zoe very randomly and last minute. I’ve noticed how different I am with my selection of subjects and I wanted to choose a person that no one would really think of or expect from me. The photos of Zoe that I found instantly made it hard to decide which to use because they all worked so well. The one I used for the edit stood out to me. It reminded me of the feel of the Rihanna and Madonna edits. I knew for sure I wanted to go in that direction and have the edit tell a story in an old-fashioned way. The color scheme of the edit is very vintage to me. I love the different browns and the softness I was able to create. The japanese handwriting idea comes again from Naruto, an anime show I’ve watched a lot of lately. This color scheme is also inspired by the “sand village” and a character by the name of Gaara. I must admit that the connection I’m making between my art and anime is refreshing. It’s different and it makes the art pop a lot more.

image

