Its been a few months since I last did a cartoon design. Before I did this design it took me a while to figure out how I wanted it to come to life. I’ve never really used a subject with facial hair, which was something I was struggling with at first. Luckily though, I came up with a smart little technique to make it come to life. This design is probably one of the harder, but also cleaner cartoons that I’ve ever done. The subject here is a dancer by the name of DeVaughn Ragston, from Hollywood, CA. He’s very handsome so I wanted to make sure all of the features and details were right so the cartoon would match up with the original photo. Because this design is so detailed, it took a very long time to master it and make it work. The background was DeVaughn’s idea. I wanted it to stand out and pop. I was able to make it red and add some gold-like elements to it. Overall, I think the design looks absolutely amazing and I’ve fallen in love with it. (The before photo is attached to show the transition.)

image

image

